Dublin Sound Lab is a contemporary music ensemble specialising in electronic and computer-mediated concert performance. As well as presenting existing works, we initiate collaborations and use computer-based techniques to explore relationships between compositional process and performance practice and create new and genuinely engaging concert experiences.

Formed in 2008 by organist Michael Quinn and composer Fergal Dowling, Dublin Sound Lab has worked with many leading Irish and international composers, performing works by: Ailis Ni Riain, Gérard Grisey, Salvatore Sciarrino, Kaija Saariaho, Luca Francesconi, Karlheinz Essl, Peter Ablinger, Mauricio Kagel, Wim de Ruiter, Ann Cleare, Scott McLaughlin, Barry Truax, Roderik de Man, Karen Tanaka, Jean-Claude Risset, Ed Bennett, Judith Ring, Gerald Barry, Jonathan Nangle, Jonathan Harvey, Rob Canning, Gráinne Mulvey, David Bremner, and Garth Knox amongst others.

In 2013 Dublin Sound Lab commissioned the Cork-based video artist, Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, to produce a large-scale video work to accompany the performance of all seven movements of Kaija Saariaho’s seminal mixed-media work MAA. The new work, MIRRORS OF EARTH, was performed 9 and 14 November in Dublin and Bray. In 2014 we commissioned and curated PLACES and RESPONSES, a major collaboration and commission involving Peter Ablinger, Gráinne Mulvey, Rob Canning and Piaras Hoban, for 2014 Tiger Dublin Fringe Festival.

In 2016 Dublin Sound Lab was joined by four new collaborators: composers Ann Cleare, Gráinne Mulvey and creative producer Sabina Bonnici. The new larger group launched MUSIC CURRENT, as a new annual festival of contemporary electronic music in Dublin. MUSIC CURRENT 2017 will take place 27–29 April at Smock Alley Theatre, and will feature international performers and guest composers, workshops and masterclasses, public discussions, a new commission from Anna Murray, premieres of new works by participating composers, and a major new multi-media spectacle developed in collaboration between composers Scott McLaughlin, Gráinne Mulvey, creative producer Sabina Bonnici, and prize winning video artist Mihai Cucu.